Resin Illuminati

Go Back   Resin Illuminati > Works in Progress > Sci-Fi and Fantasy

Sci-Fi and Fantasy Sci-Fi and Fantasy WIPs

Old 03-05-2009, 07:08 PM

Shaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant futureShaw has a brilliant future
Default Another TOS Enterprise... sorta

Well, like most people around here (I would guess) I've been building model kits of the Enterprise for many years (I believe I got my first model of the Enterprise in 1971). I've built a few dozen, and over the course of those builds got better and better at it. By the late 1980s I was replacing many parts with corrected wood parts based on the best plans available at that time by Allen Everheart with help from photos of the 11 foot model in the Smithsonian taken by my wife.

As the models got more and more accurate to the 11 foot model I started to realize that they still weren't what I really wanted. And then one day while watching Star Trek ("Requiem for Methuselah") I realize why my models hadn't lived up to what I wanted from them, they don't look like this one...

In the intervening years I learned a lot about that model in a quest to have one like it.

So a couple years ago I started working towards making one. No longer having the resources I once did for building models and props (specifically, I no longer have access to a wood shop like my Grandfather had), I decided to scale it back a little... to two-thirds the size of the original.

Why two-thirds? That made it about the same size as the 22 inch cutaway model of the Enterprise. I could scavenge parts from the kit, use some third-party parts and decals to cut down on the amount I would need to build on my own.